Jewish Humor

David’s watch is not working and he remembers seeing a little shop with clocks and watches in the window. So he goes to the shop to get his watch fixed.

“Can I help you?” asks Joseph, the owner.

“I would like my watch repaired,” replies David.

“I’m sorry, but I don’t repair watches,” says Joseph.

“Well, how much for a new watch then?” asks David.

“I don’t sell watches either,” replies Joseph.

“You don’t sell watches?” asks David in astonishment.

“No, I don’t sell watches,” replies Joseph.

“Clocks, you sell clocks don’t you?” asks David.

“No, I don’t sell clocks,” replies Joseph.

David is getting exasperated and says to Joseph, “You don’t repair watches and you don’t sell clocks or watches. So what do you do then?”

“I’m a mohel,” replies Joseph.

“Then why do you have all those clocks and watches in your window?” asks David.

“If you were a mohel,” replies Joseph, “so tell me. What would you put in your window?”

mohel: the religious man who performs ritual circumcisions according to rabbinic regulations and customs
Leave a Reply

